Boards and




and Links




Fire Department

Chief John Workman
Office Address:

204 College Highway
Southampton, MA 01073

Phone Numbers:

Fire Dispatch:(413) 527-1717
Business/Station:(413) 527-1700
Fax:(413) 527-1700
Email: firechief@town.southampton.ma.us

     The Town of Southampton is located in western Massachusetts, 17 miles northwest of Springfield. Southampton is bordered by the cities of Holyoke and Westfield and the towns of Easthampton, Westhampton, Huntington and Montgomery within Hampshire County. Our population has grown to 5,387 in 2000 and continues to grow.

     The department consists of a full time chief with the remaining members being a call force. We operate out of two stations with three pumpers, two tankers, a brush truck, and two ambulances providing fire, rescue, and ALS Intermediate Level ambulance service for the town, covering 29.08 square miles. The town is a rural setting. Each member of the department belongs to the Southampton Firefighters' Association and the Massachusetts Call/Volunteer Firefighters' Association.

October 2009 Public Notice
Pumper Tanker Invitation to Bid and Specifications

Open Burning
Open burning is allowed in Southampton on weekends from January through May 1 and by permit only (see link to the State site below for specific dates). Permits are issued at the Fire Station on Saturday mornings from 8AM to 10AM and burning is permitted from 10AM to 4PM on Saturdays and Sundays during the burning season.

Permits are $10.00 for each weekend you burn and payment by check or money order is acceptable (no cash will be accepted). Checks should be made out to the Town of Southampton and permits issued on Saturday are good only for the weekend they are issued.

Southampton Open Burning Permit Application

Open burning is regulated by the State of Massachusetts, click on the link below to learn more.
Massachusetts Open Burning Rules and Regulations

Click below to...


Board of Selectmen
Town Administrator

Town Accountant
Town Clerk
Town Counsel
Town Moderator
Transfer Station
Water Department

Public Safety
Fire Department
Highway Department
Police Department
Board of Health

Norris School
Norris Committee

HRHS School
HRHS Committee

Boards, Commissions and Committees
Animal Inspector
Board of Assessors
Board of Health
Board of Registrars
Capital Improvement
Cemetery Commission
Civil Defense
Cmty Preservation
Conservation Com
Council on Aging
County Councilor
Cultural Council
Emergency Planning
Energy Committee
Finance Committee
Greenway Committee
Historical Commission
Housing Authority
Housing Task Force
Insect Pest Control
Park Commission
Personnel (PPPB)
Planning Board
Recreational Needs
Tree Warden
Veteran Services
Water Commission
Zoning Board

Copyright 2015 © Town of Southampton, Mass.
All Rights Reserved
Website Disclaimer

Massachusetts Open Government Award (Multiple Year Winner)